5th Annual Mount Horeb Scandihoovian Winter Festival Friday February 5 to Sunday, February 7, 2016

Stoughton Norwegian Dancers "Norsk Afternoon of Fun", Sunday, February 14, 2016

Helping Hands to Children Grant Applications Due Monday, February 15, 2016

Barnebirkie in Hayward WI Friday, February 19, 2016

Elect delegates for District Lodge Meeting Month of February, 2016

Local Lodge Audit Committee Meets Month of February, 2016

D17 Financial Report Due Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Lodge Acheivement Forms Due Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Sons of Norway Foundation Scholarship Applications Due Tuesday, March 1, 2016

District 5 Scholarship Applications due Tuesday, March 15, 2016

IRS Form 990 Due Monday, May 16, 2016

District 5 Biennial Lodge Meeting and ConventionĀ  June 22-26, 2016, Marshfield, WI

International Lodge Meeting & Convention August 22-27, 2016, Tacoma, WA

Hjalmar R. Holand 549 PDF  | Print |  E-mail

Hjalmar R. Holand Lodge 549 was Instituted May 20, 1975 with 206 Charter Members. Installlng Officers were Conrad Garmager, Herb Staven, and Mary Lovdahl. Leonard Thompson was the Field Representative. Larry Dahl was the organizing officer.

First Officers were Otto Hansen, President; Hay Christiansen, Vice-President; Lou Olson, Counselor; Wm. Draeb, Treasurer; Myrle Welhaven, Financial Secretary; Lorraine Selvick, Secretary; Ragna Froland, Social Director.

Ragna and Henny Froland served refreshments consisting of Bløtkake, Kransekaker, Krumkake, and kringlea.

In 1976 the Lodge obtained a Life Boat from the ship "Mercury", and turned it into a beautiful ''Viking Ship", complete with the Dragon Head & Tall, Mast & Sail, Oars, and Spears. It appears in all of the local parades complete with Vikings.

In 1977 H. R. Holand held it's first "Norsk Fest". This year will be our eleventh. It is our moneymaker and we've had people from all over the United States see and enjoy our Rosemaling, Woodenware, Spinning, Weaving, Scandinavian Stitchery, and Kaffe Stue.

Our Lodge has given five Lifeline Units to the local hospItal in addition to donations to other charitable organizations.

Presidents that have served this lodge to date are: Otto Hansen, Lawrence Johnson, Albert Andersen, Howard Olson, Bernette Leiberg, Gordon Anderson, and Myrle Welhaven.

.... Myrle Welhaven